Checking the Power Trim and Tilt Operation

1. Fully tilt the outboard motor up and down a few times and check the entire trim and tilt range for smooth operation. Check the power trim and tilt fluid level if necessary.

NOTE:
Be sure to listen to the winding sound of the power trim and tilt motor for smooth operation.

2. Fully tilt the outboard motor up, and then support it with the tilt stop lever 1 to check the lock mechanism of the lever.

Tilt the Outboard Motor

Checking the Power Trim and Tilt Fluid Level

1. Fully tilt the outboard motor up, and then support it with the tilt stop lever.

yamaha power trim and tilt

WARNING
After tilting up the outboard motor, be sure to support it with the tilt stop lever. Otherwise, the outboard motor could suddenly lower if the power trim and tilt unit should lose fluid pressure.

2. Remove the reservoir cap 2, and then check the fluid level in the reservoir.

yamaha power trim and tilt

NOTE:
If the fluid is at the correct level, the fluid should overflow out of the filler hole when the cap is removed.

3. If necessary, add sufficient fluid of the recommended type until it overflows out of the filler hole.

Recommended power trim and tilt fluid:

  • ATF Dexron II

4. Install the reservoir cap, and then tighten it to the specified torque.

Reservoir cap:

  • 7 N·m (0.7 kgf·m, 5.1 ft·lb)

The Yamaha Owner’s Manual suggests you perform standard maintenance on your power Yamaha Tilt and Trim after the first 20 hours, then every 100 hours or annually for the life of the motor. It’s easy to do, and most times just involves a good visual and a fluid level inspection. That said, there are parts of the system that I still attend to on a monthly basis.

Because I’m running around the country fishing tournaments and towing my boat over dirt, sand, and dust on a regular basis, I try to grease the top of the rams on the tilt unit on a regular basis. In the rear battery hatch of my boat, I have a little storage compartment where I always keep a tube of Yamalube Marine Grease handy, and every time I open that compartment it reminds me to check my trim unit.

I use Yamalube Marine Grease because it’s made to withstand the saltwater environment, which I consider the toughest place for anything made of metal. I’ll just squeeze a little bit of grease on my fingers and rub it on the tops of the trim rams and their contact points on the bracket pads. You should do this on a regular basis.

